Illustration Friday: Boundaries

In celebration of this weeks theme, ‘Boundaries’ I decided to set myself no boundaries, make no plan, and pretty much just start doodling.As a result this sort of came to life. I started off with the lightbulb and the fireflies. The the stripy border thing, I’d recently been to the V&A with two of my younger siblings who are twelve and seven, and we had done an activity on Islamic art, and I’d made a couple of doodles from various things we saw, so the border thingy is originally from a design on an ancient middle-eastern table. Then came the windchime (copied from one I gave my mother for Christmas last year) and then the birds. and then I thought the speech bubble coming from the bird would be cool, string it all up, add sun moon and stars (inspired by my former Illustration Friday entry “toy”) and voilà!

Done with pen, watercolour, and a bit of felt-tip pen to enhance some of the colours. Also, some of the text I edited in on photoshop, because it ended up looking really crappy and difficult to read on the original painting. Hope you like!

It started out as a feeling
Which then grew into a hope
Which then turned into a quiet thought
Which then turned into a quiet word
And then that word grew louder and louder
‘Til it was a battle cry

~ The Call by Regina Spektor

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Boundaries

  1. Rimi Rasheed says:

    This is stunning … your work is absolutely remarkable

  2. julham says:

    i do like it! Also like your pairing with the lyrics from Regina. Nice!

  3. JJ says:

    Very interesting, the lightbulb and the fireflies are cool elements in the same space.

Leave a Reply

