Illustration Friday: Disguise

Have been working on this one over the weekend. I saw a gorgeous picture in this art book my dad owns, ‘Lifestyle Illustrations of the 60s’. I would recommend it, it’s a gorgeous book, with amazing pictures, and such a great book to dip into for inspiration. So the idea of part colour, part black and white comes from an image in this book.

The link to this weeks theme comes from a completely different source, I was baking, and when I’m baking/cooking, I always listen to music, and ‘Hey there Delilah’ was on the playlist, and (I’m sure for the first time) I noticed the line, “Listen to my voice, it’s my disguise, I’m by your side” and immediately though, Illustration Friday! It’s such a cute line, and inspired this. The story behind it is that he’s an author, he’s in love with her, and she’s holding one of his books, and his voice through the novel is his disguised way of telling her that he loves her. Points by the way to the person who can guess which actor I used as reference when drawing the guy. ๐Ÿ™‚

The actual scene is the second-hand book market under Waterloo Bridge in London, which I absolutely love, its right beside where the IBM London office is, where my dad works, so sometimes I take my younger siblings to London to the museums, he drives us, and when we’re done we take the underground to Embankment, and meet up with our dad under Waterloo Bridge. I totally tell him we’ll meet him there, just so I can see the second-hand books, disguising it as making it easier for him. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just can’t resist the lure of secondhand books.

This is a bit different than normal, done in pen and watercolour, and then because I didn’t feel the colours were strong enough, I went over it with felt-tip pens, except the sky and the skin. I quite like how it turned out, first time I’ve tried that…

‘Close your eyes
Listen to my voice, it’s my disguise
I’m by your side’

~ Hey There Delilah by Plain White T’s

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Disguise

  1. ho!! Your illustration is my *coup de coeur* of the week… I love everything about it… the half black and white/color, the etching… and mostly the characters… the way they stand, and the fact that it is so obvious (for the viewer anyway) that he is in love with her!! But she doesnt know it. So that makes us his accomplice, in a way. Now I have to get my hands on that โ€˜Lifestyle Illustrations of the 60s book… yes, second hand book markets are just great!

    • shellylou says:

      thank you, I’m glad you like it ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m actually particularly happy about how the two characters turned out, they exceeded my own expectations. The book is edited by Rian Hughes if that helps you find it, it really is an amazing source of inspiration, and the pictures are just beautiful, and so many different styles ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Chibi Janine says:

    Beautiful illustration with lovely colours. I have to say I love looking at secondhand book stores as well.

  3. Cat says:

    Beautiful use of color. Your characters seem to come to life…

Leave a Reply

