Illustration Friday: Influence

So this may not seem to fit the theme this week, but it does really, promise! I found it so difficult to find something to draw which fitted the prompt this week (hence the late update) and had several false starts, idea sketches all over the place. However I finally settled on this piece. The idea is that it represents the influence of nature on my art. It’s supposed to be a self-portrait of me, drawing while sitting on the Roman wall in Silchester. A bit different then normal, and a little bit more personal. Hope you like it. 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Influence

  1. toemailer says:

    We would love to post that at toemail if you do not mind?

    We’d just need to confirm the location, to post with it, and we’d be good to go!

    http://toemail.wordpress.com

  2. Very nice how you draw the different layers of the old Roman road. The fact that it is still there is because of the clever road engineering by the Romans.
    Just like you I love visiting these old Roman roads and walls. They often provide you with splendid views. I understand your ‘influence’ interpretation completely. 🙂

  3. Perfect! It fits “influence” just right and it’s wonderful!

  4. AHAnto says:

    Lovely drawing – I like the hierarchy of the artist, hair hiding face, intent on drawing, then end of summer grasses, down to discarded sandals, layers of road and toes resting there, balancing the whole. What did you use to add the colour?

    • shellylou says:

      thank you, I can’t believe I forgot to write which medium I used, its pen and watercolour. I’m glad you like it. 🙂

  5. toemailer says:

    Your art is posted now. We hope you like it and thank you very much. We really appreciate it!

  6. Alex says:

    This certainly fits “influence” just right! Reminds me of the days I used to go hiking and bring along my sketchbook and just draw after a few hours adventuring into natures beauty.

Leave a Reply

