Illustration Friday: Swell

Its ages since I’ve done an Illustration Friday šŸ™‚ I’ve been living in a field. Literally. Camping. Part of the job description this summer, so I haven’t had regular access to a scanner, hence the lack of images. Next Friday I’ll be out camping as well, but after that, Illustration Friday submissions should be up to a regular pace again!

So here is my image of swell. The word Swell always has me thinking of ships and waves for some reason (subconcious memory?) and I found this pretty little peice of poetry to go with it. Click image to enlarge as usual. Done in ink & watercolour. I felt like playing around with a limited colour palette as you can see.

But oars alone can ne’er prevail

To reach the distant coast;

The breath of heaven must swell the sail,

Or all the toil is lost.

~ William Cowper

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Swell

    • shellylou says:

      thank you šŸ™‚ I’m actually quite happy with how it turned out, its on my wall at the moment, I always feel the need to hang pretty new pictures up on my wall! šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

