By Lantern Glow

Was inspired this this painting by Kelly Vivanco, and liked the lanterns. I’ve several times before drawn with the theme of objects incorporated in hair. Previously I’ve done it with seashells, animals, pearls and flowers. I loved the idea of lanterns, and had just finished another painting with lanterns, so I was experimenting with the glowy effect. This is the result, which I am extremely happy with. 🙂 It makes me smile, and is just such a warm picture. You might recognize the womans pose from one of my earlier pictures, Afterwards.

I want to do a companion piece for it (or perhaps more) so if anyone has any great ideas of things which I can incorporate into hair, please feel free to give suggestions!

Done with pen and watercolour. (What did I ever do without my watercolours?)

By the way, as a little side note, on another artists blog I discovered the waterbrush! One can get them on Amazon (I bought mine at Staples though, and was a tad cheaper) I highly recommend them, they are amazing! The idea is simple really, the water is inside the brush. Its sooo useful, especially if your painting on the go. I use mine so much (pretty much for everything) and the best part is that it never leaks, so I always have it half-full of water, tucked away in my pencil case along all my pencils and pens.

And at last I see the light
And it’s like the fog has lifted
And at last I see the light
And it’s like the sky is new
And it’s warm and real and bright
And the world has somehow shifted
All at once everything looks different
Now that I see you

~ I see the Light (Tangled)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

