Illustration Friday: Beneath

Another Friday, and this time IllustrationFriday.com has something which has me excited.

The word, Beneath.

There are a million things you can do with that word! I already have ten ideas within five minutes of pondering. I subscribe to the email updates on the site, so that Friday’s word drops very neatly into my inbox, and to help me along in my inspiration it is accompanied by a quote.

“Be as a bird perched on a frail branch that she feels bending beneath her, still she sings away all the same, knowing she has wings.” ~ Victor Hugo

So all my ideas were bird-themed today. Add to that the fact that I had just previously been mooning over this painting by Adam S. Doyle, called ‘The Chosen One’, with some magnificent birds on, and that I’ve been  planning to practice some anatomy drawing, and viola, you get todays picture! Done with ink and watercolour. Usually my art is very scribbly, detailed and all over the place, but with this piece I wanted to have very clean lines, and the aim was to make the simplicity contribute to the drawing.

Originally she was going to be a ballerina, but I’ve drawn so many ballerina’s in the past, and I wanted to do something different, so I made her a tap-dancer instead, since my little sister is starting tap dancing soon (to add to her ballet and modern dance lessons, its so hectic getting her to everything!) It also creates fond memories of when I used to tap dance. The girl is supposed to be a much older version of my sister, hence the long red hair. I’m afraid the photo doesn’t quiet do the real thing justice, but photos rarely do when it comes to drawings and paintings. I may attempt to scan it in properly at a later date.

I realise that the image looks very symbolic, with the bird, the girl, the feathers etc. However I’m not going to explain what it means to me, but rather leave it open to interpretation.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Beneath

  1. artsnark says:

    Like it! great curves & concept

  2. Alice says:

    nice work, the style of the chair and pose work together really well. also lovely quote!

Leave a Reply

